Resources for Radio Programmers

Recorded at Hollywood’s Capitol Studios, “Prime Time” features 15 tunes, sizzling thanks to an expansive mix by legendary recording engineer and record producer Al Schmitt.  Accompanied by a world-class orchestra performing gorgeous arrangements by Ed Vodicka, Josephine breathes fresh, new energy into the works of George Gershwin, Cole Porter, Jimmy Van Heusen and other pillars in the pantheon of popular song.

To request interviews, promotional give-aways or further assistance, contact Kevin Sasaki at 866-932=0056 x102 or email


Release date:  01/10/2020 – Going for Jazz Radio Adds Monday, January 20th, 2020

File under:  Jazz/Lifestyle/Great American Songbook

Media Player with full tracks from “Prime Time”


Bio:  Josephine Beavers’ first influence was her mother, Laura Joy, a leading jazz vocalist in Washington DC who shared spotlights with Duke Ellington, Count Basie and the Charlie Byrd Trio.  Josphine would later add elements of Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Lena Horne and Mel Torme to her own emerging style.  She married Robert M. Beavers, Jr., who rose to become McDonald’s first African American senior executive and board member and later a highly successful food industry entrepreneur.  At the same time, Josephine continued her college education and raised their four children, foregoing her singing career to focus on being a “supportive corporate wife.”  She did perform around Chicago, including at McDonald’s founder Ray Kroc’s lavish birthday parties.  With Bob’s passing in 2015, Josephine became a principal in Beavers Holdings overseeing six operating companies in the food service industry.  Now in 2020, Josephine has decided to get her much-deserved career underway once again.

Media Player with clips from “Prime Time”


“Prime Time” album notes

Orchestra arranged and conducted by Ed Vodicka

  • Executive Producer: Robert M. Beavers, Jr.
  • Produced by Ed Vodicka
  • Recording Supervision and Direction by Ami Hadani
  • Recorded by Larry Millas
  • Assistant Engineer Leslie Ann Jones
  • Mixed by: Al Schmitt
  • Assisted by: Steve Genewick
  • Mastered for digital and vinyl by: Ron McMaster
  • Recorded August 8 and 9, 1994 at Capitol Studios, Studio A, Hollywood, California
  • Mixed by: Al Schmitt
  • Assisted by: Steve Genewick
  • Mixed June 24-26, 2019 at Capitol Studios, Studio C, Hollywood, California
  • Mastered for digital and vinyl by Ron McMaster at Capitol Mastering, Hollywood, California
  • Digital mastering July 12, 2019
  • Vinyl mastering August 20, 2019
  • Transferred and archived from Mitsubishi Digital 32-track by Dan Johnson, Audio Archiving Services Inc., Hollywood, California
  • Orchestra Contractor: Dick Forrest
  • Strings contracted by: Barbara Nahlik
  • Music Preparation & Librarian: Donna Garcia
  • Recorded under agreement with the American Federation of Musicians and AFM Local 47.
  • All selections arranged, orchestrated and conducted by Ed Vodicka
  • Grand Songbook Media Inc.


  • Ed Vodicka                                            Piano
  • Andy Simpkins                                     Bass
  • Chuck Christiansen                             Drums
  • Sid Jacobs                                             Guitar
  • Larry Bunker                                        Percussion
  • Tony Ortega & Ray Reed                    Alto Saxophone & Flute
  • Pete Christlieb & Gordon Brisker     Tenor Saxophone & Clarinet
  • Jack Nimitz                                            Baritone Saxophone & Bass Clarinet
  • Frank Szabo, Conte Candoli, Oscar Brashear & Dick Forrest:        Trumpet & Flugelhorn
  • Jack Redmond, Andy Martin, Thurman Green:                                 Trombone
  • (Roy Weigand Jr. for Andy Martin on If You Never Come to Me, Night and Day and Speak Low)
  • Mike Wimberly                                    Bass Trombone
  • Brad Warnaar & Rick Todd               Horn
  • (Steve Becknell for Rick Todd on If You Never Come to Me and Speak Low)
  • Charlie Bisharat                                  Concertmaster
  • Armen Garabedian, Darius Campo, Gil Romero, Anatoly Rosinsky, Peter Kent, Lianne Mautner, Joel Darouin                       Violin
  • Dmitri Bovaird, Jimbo Ross               Viola
  • Chris Ermacoff, Armen Ksajikian     Cello
  • Gayle Levant                                        Harp
  • (Katie Kirkpatrick on If You Never Come to Me and Speak Low
  • Howard Levy                                        Harmonica
  • Johnny Frigo                                         Violin Solo on Because of You

Links to mp3, flac and 44.1 wave files (zipped) for download (full “Prime Time” album)

(please note:  links take you to the online store:  please place desired zip files in cart, and use promo code “JBRadio2021” at checkout for complimentary promotional downloads)